Skip to content
Torfaen Counts — Torfaen, in numbers.Local help →

Torfaen, in numbers

People and living standards

Torfaen council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Torfaen council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 90,961 in 1991 to 93,973 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Torfaen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 91,268 people in 1996; 93,973 people in 2025. 3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Torfaen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199190,961
199291,188
199390,899
199490,928
199590,955
199691,268
199791,364
199891,355
199991,129
200091,214
200190,912
200290,700
200390,719
200490,516
200590,644
200690,820
200790,974
200891,094
200991,199
201091,060
201191,190
201291,199
201390,842
201490,866
201590,844
201690,730
201790,638
201891,130
201991,685
202092,337
202192,454
202292,873
202393,535
202494,034
202593,973
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Torfaen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 20,034 people in 1996; 16,934 people in 2025. 15.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Torfaen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,573
199219,736
199319,796
199420,025
199520,088
199620,034
199720,093
199820,076
199919,959
200019,826
200119,389
200219,032
200318,839
200418,504
200518,241
200618,096
200717,867
200817,710
200917,574
201017,344
201117,204
201217,131
201316,898
201416,822
201516,721
201616,722
201716,794
201816,957
201917,173
202017,247
202117,104
202217,065
202317,130
202417,161
202516,934
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Torfaen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 56,432 people in 1996; 56,854 people in 2025. 0.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Torfaen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199157,222
199257,082
199356,655
199456,355
199556,212
199656,432
199756,391
199856,276
199956,095
200056,256
200156,215
200256,352
200356,553
200456,593
200556,859
200657,049
200757,356
200857,521
200957,606
201057,425
201157,509
201257,115
201356,662
201456,396
201556,184
201655,735
201755,457
201855,577
201955,598
202055,908
202156,052
202256,358
202356,687
202456,908
202556,854
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Torfaen council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,802 people in 1996; 20,185 people in 2025. 36.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Torfaen council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,166
199214,370
199314,448
199414,548
199514,655
199614,802
199714,880
199815,003
199915,075
200015,132
200115,308
200215,316
200315,327
200415,419
200515,544
200615,675
200715,751
200815,863
200916,019
201016,291
201116,477
201216,953
201317,282
201417,648
201517,939
201618,273
201718,387
201818,596
201918,914
202019,182
202119,298
202219,450
202319,718
202419,965
202520,185
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 92,276 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torfaen · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,2021.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2280.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,0051.1%
White89,59697.1%
Other ethnic group2450.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 91,075 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torfaen · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White89,23198%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups6030.7%
Asian/Asian British9771.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1690.2%
Other ethnic group950.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 90,949 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Torfaen · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White90,09799.1%
Mixed3430.4%
Asian/Asian British2380.3%
Black/Black British840.1%
Chinese/Other1870.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 20.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Torfaen council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,396 per person in 1997; £20,558 per person in 2024. 144.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Torfaen council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,396
19988,442
19999,010
20009,694
200110,011
200210,221
200310,732
200411,143
200511,224
200611,340
200711,871
200812,223
200912,216
201012,522
201112,767
201213,252
201313,699
201414,005
201514,530
201614,931
201715,308
201816,023
201916,608
202016,807
202116,998
202217,983
202319,256
202420,558
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Torfaen council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -20.9% in 1997; -20.8% in 2024. 0.1 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Torfaen council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-20.9
1998-22
1999-20.4
2000-18.6
2001-19.1
2002-19.2
2003-17.7
2004-17.9
2005-20.2
2006-22.6
2007-22.6
2008-22.4
2009-23.7
2010-22.5
2011-21.6
2012-21.5
2013-21.8
2014-22.6
2015-23.6
2016-22.5
2017-22.3
2018-21.5
2019-21.2
2020-19.9
2021-22.2
2022-21.7
2023-21.2
2024-20.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.1%

21 March 2021 · Torfaen council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

23.6%

21 March 2021 · Torfaen council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.1%

21 March 2021 · Torfaen council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.9%

21 March 2021 · Torfaen council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£199,000

July 2026 · Torfaen council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£862

August 2026 · Torfaen council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.